top of page

Story 1: The cycle of Life. Therefore no loss is loss, and no gain is gain.




I came across an inspiring conversation the other day with Shashwat.

We were discussing getting a pet, and neither of us had experience taking care of one. Knowing he is a softy inside, I challenged him with the question,


“Okay, but eventually they’re going to die someday, aren’t you afraid of that?”

“Yes, they are going to die. But I don’t think of it that way. They have completed their cycle of life.” He said.



“They have completed their cycle of life.” The line has been stuck in my mind ever since, and I ruminate on it over and over again.


Last night as we lay in bed and stared at neon lights cast on the ceiling, I was reminded of the sentence.


“We have to savor this moment,” I told Shashwat.


“What do you mean by that?” He adjusted his figure to spoon against mine, concerned.


“I mean…… as much as we want to believe that this moment may easily be recreated, there will be times when we are not going to be able to.”


“Ahh… yes. That’s why I give you so many kisses, so you put them in your kissy bank. When I am not around, you can still have some.”

I looked at him in curiosity as he continued.


“But the kissy currency will die off if not used for a long time. And you might be interested in other currencies. Then all the savings I’ve put for you will be of no use.”


“And then I’ll have to look for other currency too.” He sighed.


“That’s life isn’t it.” I responded.


“But that’s why I love the way you said ‘They have completed their cycle of life.’ I added.


“Cause if we see lives around us as many cycles in our life, some are shorter, and some are very very long, some even exceed our life span.” my finger traced the fan in a circle as I continued.


“You will see that they are all just completing their own cycles, in their own timing…and you are one of them,”


“Therefore, no Loss is loss...

...and no Gain is gain.”









Comments


bottom of page