top of page

Sketchbook



One day, you too

Will be like a beautiful stranger to me.

That day, I too

Shall be a ruffled memory of yours.


That is the moment

I open my sketchbook

flip to your page

and stare at whatever route I've traced,

that leads me to your face

and got lost in your pace.

Knowing all things will be okay,

for life is not to haste.


But I can't tell you that I've missed you,

so I pour these longings into the drawings

where I can reach you.

As I thaw myself out

of the illusion

where I trapped myself into.


In these pages,

where I've gently

brushed through your hair,

outlined those ears,

and etched in the memories we've shared.

I don't have to pretend

that I don't care,

and you wouldn't have known

how much I fear.

Cause I'm that close to losing

I swear.


Before we call it a night,

I shall not plead you

to kiss me goodbye.

I'll be safe with my drawings,

where you won't look into my eyes,

for I can't bear

more of your sight.


And this

is how I forget you in silence,

leaving your life complete in absence.


Until I have become,

a beautiful stranger to you.

and you

have finally turned into...


a ruffled memory,

in the sketchbook of mine.


Comments


bottom of page